How many official languages are in the E.U?

The EU has 23 official languages. European parliament debates are translated into all of them.

Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenia, Slovene, Spanish and Swedish.

Because some languages are spoken in several countries, there are fewer official languages than member states.

All the regulations and laws given by the Parliament are published in the EU’s all official languages. All the MEPs may use the official language they know best when speaking in session. The speech is then interpreted into the other official languages. There are a large number of translators and interpreters working for the European Union. The translation department is the biggest department in the European Parliament. Almost one third of the Parliament’s employees work in language-related duties.